Stay True To Your Own Voice

Sandy Gordon Frankfort
6 min readDec 19, 2022
Image Credit: Sandy Gordon Frankfort

“Stay True to Your Own Voice. Don’t worry about needing to be liked, or what anybody else thinks. Keep your eyes on your own paper…”

I stumbled upon this quote the other day and had to get a few thoughts down on my own paper regarding this simple idea. So often, we say that we don’t care what people think, we don’t care if we are liked and we aren’t doing anything for validation. This may be true for many and I am one who testifies to such proclamations. What I am interested in exploring deeper though is; Are we allowing the thoughts and opinions of others to justify our voice and expression in this life? Are we being stopped by what others are doing, saying, or not saying?

I just re-entered the world of social media a few weeks ago. It is a tricky, yet stimulating venture and process. I removed myself from it many years ago for many reasons. Some of those reasons still apply today and new ones are appearing as I make attempts to express my art, my voice, and the way I see the world. I hear the negativity already and the opposing voices trying to stop me. The challenging part is remembering, at all times, to keep my eyes on my own paper. This is such an important reminder. Before I removed myself from the realm of what could have been inspiring and filled with possibilities, I was…

--

--

Sandy Gordon Frankfort

The Privilege of a Lifetime is Being Exactly Who You Are. Life is Life. Fight For It. ♥️ www.sandygordonfrankfort.com